Upcoming Events in the Linguistics Department

  • 3/24/2017
    Colloquium
    University of Quebec at Montreal & NYU
    Edge Morphology
    Friday, March 24, 2017, 3:30 pm - 5:00 pm
    SAC 303
        I develop the thesis that basic components of thought, not limited to propositions, are derived from the optimally constructed generative procedure in conjunction with Third Factor Principles of efficient computation. I focus on the externalization of edge morphology.
        The Edge(X) of a phase includes both X (the Head) and the Specifier of X  [Spec [H [Compl]]]. The complement of a phase is spelled out before the edge (Chomsky 2001, et seq.), and economy conditions have been proposed for the externalization of the Edge.
  • 3/29/2017
    Brown Bag Talk
    Stony Brook University
    Against Double Object Constructions in Spanish and Portuguese: Ditransitives revisited
    Wednesday, March 29, 2017, 1:00 pm
    Seminar Room
  • 3/31/2017
    Colloquium
    MIT
    Friday, March 31, 2017, 3:30 pm - 5:00 pm
    SAC 305

    This talk is cancelled.

  • 4/5/2017
    Brown Bag Talk
    Stony Brook
    Scope Freezing in PP Dative Constructions?
    Wednesday, April 5, 2017, 1:00 pm
    Seminar Room
  • 4/7/2017
    Colloquium
    NYU
    Friday, April 7, 2017, 3:30 pm - 5:00 pm
    SBS S218
  • 4/12/2017
    Brown Bag Talk
    Michigan State University
    When Laryngeal Contrast Met Tone Contrast…
    Wednesday, April 12, 2017, 1:00 pm
    Seminar Room
  • 4/14/2017
    Colloquium
    University of Rochester
    Friday, April 14, 2017, 3:30 pm - 5:00 pm
    SAC 305
  • 4/19/2017
    Brown Bag Talk
    Stony Brook University
    TBC
    Wednesday, April 19, 2017, 1:00 pm
    Seminar Room
  • 4/27/2017 (All day)
    Conference
    Thursday, April 27, 2017 (All day) - Sunday, April 30, 2017 (All day)
    Wang Center

    27-30 April, Wang Center, Stony Brook University

    Stony Brook Linguistics is pleased to announce hosting the first North American Conference in Iranian Linguistics (NACIL 1), April 27-30, 2017.

  • 4/28/2017
    Colloquium
    University of Maryland
    Friday, April 28, 2017, 3:30 pm - 5:00 pm
    SAC 305